Metro Status?

Topics: Windows Metro
Apr 25, 2012 at 4:06 PM

I'm new here. I just saw that metro was added to the roadmap.  I downloaded the latest source and see that some work has been done already for metro support.  What is its current status?  Is there any way it currently runs?  I'm just getting into the new metro apis but I have a lot of .net and xna development experience.  I could possibly help with parts if needed.

Thanks 

Developer
Apr 25, 2012 at 4:51 PM

hi

The Metro port is in development. Currently it will display a blue windows ( I think) the graphics, audio, content loader etc are all still to do.

TomSpilman is the project lead for the Metro port, he can fill you in on what is being developed and which areas we need people to work on.

Dean

Coordinator
Apr 25, 2012 at 10:03 PM

Currently there are a few areas where people can help:

• Graphics - Tom Spilman
  • Audio - Bill Reiss
  • Input
  • Video and VideoPlayer
  • Content & Storage
  • Network & GamerServices

Currently the build can initialize Game and GameWindow, can clear the screen, and take some keyboard input.  I'm deep into the shader/effect side to get rendering working.  The rest is not getting any attention yet, but should go quick after I get graphics worked out.

Really there is very little to port to get things working... the majority of the MonoGame code is not platform specific.   It is mostly just #ifdef'ing in an alternate OS call.

Let me know if you decide to tackle any of the unassigned areas.

Coordinator
May 1, 2012 at 5:01 AM

Tom, I've got some free dev time at the moment, so I thought I would make a start on some of the unassigned areas.  I'm grabbing the repo now and see if I can get it all compiling and running to a clear screen first.

Coordinator
May 1, 2012 at 5:02 AM

Cool.

Let me know if you run into any issues.

Coordinator
May 1, 2012 at 5:53 AM
Edited May 1, 2012 at 6:13 AM