Hi, I have some basic questions regarding MonoGame.

Topics: General, Web, Windows Desktop
Jan 20, 2013 at 5:33 PM
Edited Jan 20, 2013 at 6:36 PM

I've never tried using MonoGame before so I was wondering if I could get some answers to a few questions.

1. Is it possible to develop on Windows 7 with Visual Studio? (I'm asking this because all the tutorials out there seem to be for Windows 8)

2. If so, are there are any helloworld tutorials out there for Windows 7 desktop?

3. Is it possible to develop game applications for a browser similar to Unity or Flash?

Update:

4. I've finished the "Installing Prerequisites on Windows" tutorial. Is there a template for a Windows desktop template? I didn't see one in "Creating a Game class".

5. I'm assuming it doesn't but does Monogame require XNA to work?

6. I have Visual Studio 2012 open. In the Templates > Visual C# > Windows, I currently do not see a Monogame template. Could someone give me some pointers? I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. In the Solution Explorer I see the following 3 projects...

- Lidgren.Network.Windows

- MonoGame.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Windows

- MonoGame.Framework.Windows

Isn't there supposed to be a MonoGame project template that should be selectable?

Basically I'm trying to do a helloworld. :)

Jan 20, 2013 at 10:21 PM

Anyone?

Developer
Jan 20, 2013 at 10:26 PM

1. Yes, if you are targeting anything but Windows 8.

2. XNA Hello World tutorials are a good place to start

3. Not officially. Though technomage did create a browser demo, and the guys behind Bastion did release a version of MonoGame on Chrome.

4. Grab the Windows installer, which should have the VS project templates.

5. No... and Yes. the Yes part is that we make use of the Content Pipeline from XNA. Works has begun on a cross-platform content pipeline, so stay tuned.

6. Yes there should be, if there is then there may be an issue with the installer. 

D.

Coordinator
Jan 20, 2013 at 10:32 PM